CONFIRMED!! The Ballon D’Or Nominees Will Be Announced In August

On Tuesday, it was announced by France Football that the 2022 awards would be held on 17 October 2022.

Almost all the leagues in Europe have seen their winners for the 2021/2022 season. The most anticipated and prominent football awards ceremony is yet to award the effort of some individuals in football. During the last Ballon d’Or held, Gianluigi Donnarumma won the Yachine award and Lionel Messi won his 7th Ballon d’Or. The Ballon d’Or nominees will be announced in August and will be awarded in October.

On Tuesday, it was announced by France Football that the 2022 awards would be held on 17 October 2022. The stakeholders of the Ballon d’Or are to note that it is being judged over the period August to July instead of the calendar year this time.

The popular Ballon d’Or is an annual football award which is presented by the French news magazine, France football. Ballon d’Or is known as the oldest and the most prominent individual award for males and females. This began in the year 1956. During the years between 2010 and 2015, there was a partnership with FIFA. Therefore during these years, it was known as the FIFA Ballon d’Or. This ended in the year 2016. In all the Ballon d’Or is 65 years old.

Lionel Messi is the current holder and the most awards winner with 7 awards and a nomination in the 2021 edition. Cristiano Ronaldo is the player with the most nomination with 17 nominations and 5 awards. During the years between 1956 and 2006, football journalists were allowed to vote. From 2007, coaches and captains of national teams were also given the right to vote. Ballon d’Or became global in 2007.

George Weah was the first African to win the Ballon d’Or. Lev Yashin is the only goalkeeper to win the award in 1963. The 2020 edition was cancelled due to the Corona Virus pandemic (COVID 19). Over the years these individuals have benn awarded for their effort in football:

2021Lionel Messi
2019Lionel Messi
2018Luka Modric
2017Cristiano Ronaldo
2016Cristiano Ronaldo
2015Lionel Messi
2014Cristiano Ronaldo
2013Cristiano Ronaldo
2012Lionel Messi
2011Lionel Messi
2010Lionel Messi
2009Lionel Messi
A table of the winners of the Ballon d’Or from 2009 to date.

More Stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here